Spell Bee Competition

“Spelling is important because it aids in reading. It helps to develop the connection that is shared between sounds and letters.” Learning a language is the foremost step in the life of a child as it helps them to communicate with the world and a school plays a vital role to train the child in this direction.

Under the” Language Café” programme in primary section a Virtual Spell Bee competition was organised on 28th January, 2022 for classes U.kg – 5. The competition was organised in three groups. They are as follows: –

Group 1Grade UKG and 1
Group 2Grade 2 and 3
Group 3Grade 4 and 5

Group 1: Grade UKG to 1 – 

  • Competition was held internally (in the class)
  • Only 1st and 2nd position were awarded.

Group 2 and 3:

Competition was held in 3 rounds for each group. Round 1 was conducted on 27th January, 2022 and the selected students participated in Round 2 and 3. The rounds for the competition were as follows:

1st Round- Spelling writing

  • Teacher gave words from the word bank – specific for each grade

On the basis of correct answers – 3 students from each grade were selected for the next round.

2nd Round – Jumbled words

Words were finalised – 24 words (12 for Group 2 + 12 for Group 3)

3rd Round-

It was conducted in 3 levels:

Level 1:

Complete the word 

Level 2:

Guess the word from Emoji/Rebus Puzzle

Level 3:

Fastest Finger First

  • The objective of the competition was to enhance the spelling and literary skills of children by encouraging them to explore the English language, expand their vocabulary and improve their communication and comprehension skills. This helps students to improve spelling. The children enjoyed the challenging questions and played enthusiastically. This competition also helped in enriching the vocabulary bank of the students.
  • This competition was successfully conducted under the support and guidance of the principal Sir Dr. Subash Kumar and academic coordinator Madam Keathi Sharma.

In charge Teacher:

  • Miss. Taniya Ghosh
  • Mrs. Sadaf Rahman
  • Mrs. Richa Chaudhary
  • Mrs Sujata Singh
  • Mrs. Udita Chakraborty
  • Mrs. Rimjhim Mukherjee
  • Mrs. Sima Das
WordPress Lightbox